The news about publishing of the new version of ISO 9001:2015 standard in the second half of this year (in September) is widely spread in the information space. Publishing of the FDIS (Final Draft International Standard) is planned to take place in July 2015. There are also many discussions on ensuring of transition for the existing certified companies.The International Accreditation Forum (IAF) has set a 3-year transition period (starting from the publication date) for certification bodies to ensure transition of customers of certification bodies from the standard version of year 2008 to the new version of year 2015.

More information: IAF document “IAF ID 9:2015 – Transition Planning Guidance for ISO 9001:2015”: The document was published in January 2015 and it provides information to involved parties about the conditions for transition from ISO 9001:2008 to ISO 9001:2015. ISO 9001:2008 will remain effective during the transition period (~ September 2015 – September 2018). IAF has also provided additional information according to the discussion results obtained at the technical meeting, which took place in April of this year, in Frankfurt.

IAF has specified a set of criteria, which shall be demonstrated by certification bodies (CBs) during the transition process. The transition process determined by LATAK includes these recommendations. LATAK transition conditions will be coordinated with the involved parties, incl. the Latvian Society for Quality.

LATAK transition conditions

The conditions described below are developed, based on the information on the expected publication time of ISO FDIS 9001:2015 version and standard.

Currently, LATAK implements activities in order to prepare and train assessors in line with ISO FDIS 9001:2015 standard version and be prepared for assessment of certification bodies approximately in August of 2015. LATAK assessment is not mandatory during FDIS stage of standard, but it applies only to those CBs, which want to receive accreditation under the new version shortly after publishing of the official version of the standard. CBs shall have properly introduced all required changes. It also has to be considered, that the final version of the standard cannot differ significantly from the assessed FDIS version. CBs and LATAK have to make comparison to approve these changes.

The transition process includes at least the following assessment stages:

- review of comparison of standards, performed by CB, and binding documentation,
- assessment of CB (visit at the certification body),
- assessment of audit carried out by CB (witnessing), at least one witnessing.
Usually, LATAK carries out transition assessment during planned supervision or re-accreditation assessments. In these cases transition assessment is planned by allocating additional time in the assessment programme plan, for example, for assessment of standard comparison analysis and certifications.

If CB requests earlier assessment, the request is examined and assessment is organized according to resources available to LATAK. Such assessment process can last for at least 2 assessment days. In both cases witnessing procedures are considered as a component of annual assessment programme and in normal conditions they should not create additional costs.

Information request

During organisation of the transition assessment, CBs are invited to submit documents of standard comparison analysis timely, indicating changes and additions in CB management system and processes, including transition conditions, communication with customers, training materials and certifications of the competence approval process. These materials will be used for determination of transition assessment programme.

Audits determined for witnessing shall be performed for customers that have already introduced ISO 9001:2015. Witnessing procedures have to be sufficient to demonstrate the competence and auditing process of CB in accordance with the new standard, which would include such aspects as risk management approach, organisational context, responsibility of senior management, audit planning and reporting of results. If the witnessing process does not give sufficient confidence about demonstration of understanding of these aspects, LATAK may request performing of additional audit witnessing.


LATAK is aware, that there could be demand from CBs to perform sufficiently fast transition to ISO 9001:2015; therefore, for LATAK to be able to plan the required resources, CBs are invited to submit the following information to LATAK until 01.06.2015:

- When CB wants to perform transition assessment (during FDIS stage, after publishing of the final version of standard or during the planned supervision)
  If CB wants to perform transition assessment during FDIS stage, the following information will be required:
•    does CB have customers that have already implemented the new standard;
•    the existing status of CB in implementation of transition (training, auditing technique, competence of personnel involved in certification, ...);
•    changes made by CB to the management system documentation;
•    communication with customers implemented by CB.

This survey information will be summarized by LATAK.

Taking into consideration, that also ISO 14001:2015 will be published approximately in September 2015, CBs may request LATAK to perform the combined assessment of ISO/IEC 17021 – to assess the competence of CBs in auditing pursuant to the new versions of ISO 9001 and ISO 14001.

Please, take into consideration, that ISO 9001:2015 certificates can be issued only after official publishing of standard, and that certificates with reference to LATAK accreditation can be issued after inclusion of ISO 9001:2015 in the scope of accreditation.

CB shall ensure, that the term of expiration of ISO 9001:2008 certificates issued by CB will not exceed the end of the transition period. All these certificates become invalid after the transition period and companies, which want to regain the certificate, have to start the certification period anew.

Indicative terms:
July 2015  -  publishing of ISO FDIS 9001 version
August 2015 -   readiness of LATAK to perform assessment of CBs according to FDIS version
September 2015  -  expected publishing of ISO 9001:2015, also ISO 14001:2015
September 2018  -  end of transition period of ISO 9001:2008


Back to Top